Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1b9703c8bb5704eb000081

Hatsuyume

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hatsuyume

Start file
Hatsuyume

Fuji
Taka
Nasubi

Sen
Tabako
Zatō
End file
Hatsuyume

1 Fuji
2 Taka
3 Nasubi

4 Sen
5 Tabako
6 Zatō

View Diff

3,5c3,5
< Fuji
< Taka
< Nasubi
---
> 1 Fuji
> 2 Taka
> 3 Nasubi
7,9c7,9
< Sen
< Tabako
< Zatō
---
> 4 Sen
> 5 Tabako
> 6 Zatō

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 117 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#118 Andrei Dragomir / adragomir - Score: 34 - 01/04/11 @ 11:00
2jI1 <Esc>jI2 <Esc>jI3 <Esc>2jI4 <Esc>jI5 <Esc>jI6 <Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#119 William Shackleton / wshackleton - Score: 34 - 01/07/11 @ 17:44
jjqqI1 <Esc>jq2@qj3@qh5<C-A>k4<C-A>k3<C-A>kk2<C-A>k<C-A>ZZ

0 comments

#120 Vladimir Parfinenko / cypok - Score: 34 - 01/19/11 @ 08:45
jjI1 <Esc>jI2 <Esc>jI3 <Esc>jjI4 <Esc>jI5 <Esc>jI6 <Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#121 mightyfoo / mightyfoo - Score: 34 - 05/26/11 @ 12:23
2jI1 <Esc>jI2 <Esc>jI3 <Esc>jjI4 <Esc>jI5 <Esc>jI6 <Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#122 Xavier Nayrac / lkdjiin - Score: 34 - 12/30/11 @ 13:39
2ji1 <Esc>+i2 <Esc>+i3 <Esc>+ji4 <Esc>+i5 <Esc>+i6 <Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#123 Christopher Brew / Seph1rothVII - Score: 34 - 01/06/12 @ 23:38
jjI1 <Down><Left><Left>2 <Down><Left><Left>3 <Down><Down><Left><Left>4 <Down><Left><Left>5 <Down><Left><Left>6 <Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#124 Michael / patheticpat - Score: 34 - 12/17/12 @ 22:35
2jI1 <Esc>jI2 <Esc>jI3 <Esc>2jI4 <Esc>jI5 <Esc>jI6 <Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#125 LicoriceTaffy / LicoriceTaffy - Score: 34 - 06/10/14 @ 14:59
<Down><Down>i1 <Left><Left><Down>2 <Left><Left><Down>3 <Left><Left><Down><Down>4 <Left><Left><Down>5 <Left><Left><Down>6 <Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#126 Connie Qi / connieqi - Score: 34 - 06/11/14 @ 15:17
3Gi1 <Down><Left><Left>2 <Down><Left><Left>3 <Down><Down><Left><Left>4 <Down><Left><Left>5 <Down><Left><Left>6 <Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#127 Nándor Komzák / rubymood - Score: 35 - 12/29/10 @ 23:35
qaj>>0q@ar1@ar2@ar3j@ar4@ar5@ar6ZZ<NL>

0 comments

#128 Francesco / fra_cek - Score: 35 - 02/13/12 @ 12:28
2jI1 <Esc>jI2 <Esc>jI3 <Esc>2jI4 <Esc>jI5 <Esc>jI6 <Esc>:x<CR>

0 comments

#129 Levon Lloyd / levonlloyd - Score: 36 - 02/04/11 @ 20:48
jji1 <Left><Left><Down>2 <Left><Left><Down>3 <Left><Left><Down><Down>4 <Down><Left><Left>5 <Left><Left><Down>6 <Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments

#130 Jakub Troszok / zosoooo - Score: 36 - 05/04/11 @ 15:17
2ji1 <Down><Left><Left>2 <Down><Left><Left>3 <Down><Down><Left><Left>4 <Down><Left><Left>5 <Down><Left><Left>6 <Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments

#131 Andy Goldstein / andygoldstein - Score: 37 - 12/29/10 @ 21:07
3G<C-V>GI <Esc>i1<Esc>ji2<Esc>ji3<Esc>jxji4<Esc>ji5<Esc>ji6<Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#132 Drew Neil / nelstrom - Score: 37 - 08/27/13 @ 10:05
:let i=1<CR>qq2eI<C-R>=i<CR> <Esc>:let i=i+1<CR>q5@qZZ

0 comments

#133 Advait Shinde / thethimble - Score: 38 - 12/29/10 @ 21:03
jjqwI1 <Esc>jq6@whr6kr5kr4kxxkr3kr2:wq<CR>

0 comments

#134 Yannick LM / yanicklm - Score: 38 - 12/30/10 @ 22:46
3Gi1 <Esc><Down>I2 <Esc>jI3 <Esc>7GI4 <Esc>jI5 <Esc>jI6 <Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments

#135 Sid Kasivajhula / CountVajhula - Score: 39 - 12/29/10 @ 21:01
GI6 <Esc>k.k.kk.k.k.hr1jr2jr3)jr4jr5:wq<CR>

0 comments

#136 William Ott / oddalot - Score: 39 - 04/15/15 @ 03:48
2ji1 <Esc>j0i2 <Esc>j0i3 <Esc>2j0i4 <Esc>j0i5 <Esc>j0i6 <Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#137 Lee Marlow / lmarlow - Score: 40 - 12/29/10 @ 23:57
jjI1 <Esc>jI2 <Esc>jI3 <Esc>jjI4 <Esc>jI5 <Esc>jI6 <Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#138 Henrik Nyh / henrik - Score: 42 - 12/30/10 @ 00:59
2<Down><C-V>GI1 <Esc><Down>r2<Down>r3<Down>C<Esc><Down>r4<Down>r5<Down>r6ZZ

0 comments

#139 Ujjwol Lamichhane / Ujjwol - Score: 44 - 12/30/10 @ 09:11
<Tab>jji1 <Esc>j0i <BS>2 <Esc>j0i3 <Esc>jj0i4 <Esc>j0i5 <Esc>j0i6 <Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#140 Arto Vuori / dhpe - Score: 45 - 08/30/12 @ 22:12
3GVG:s/^/\=line(".") . " "<CR>3<C-X>k.k.kxxk2<C-X>k.k.ZZ

0 comments

#141 Soliman Sylvain / sylvain_soliman - Score: 46 - 12/29/10 @ 21:38
:3,5s/^/\=line('.')-2.' '<CR>:<C-F><Up>R7<Right>9<Esc>/2<CR>r3<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#142 Dan Wanek / zentourist - Score: 48 - 12/29/10 @ 20:46
jji1 <Esc>j^i2 <Esc>j^i3 <Esc>jj^i4 <Esc>j^i <BS>5 <Esc>j^i6 <Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments

#143 Cyril Pascal / paxal - Score: 55 - 12/30/10 @ 17:37
<Down><Down>i1 <Home><Down>2 <Home><Down>3 <Home><Down><Down>4 <Home><Down>5 <Home><Down>6 <Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#144 Chris Doble / chrisdoble - Score: 56 - 12/30/10 @ 01:15
:6d<CR>:3;$g/^/exec "s/^/".(line(".")-2)." /"<CR><Up><Up>O<Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#145 Ben Dowling / coderholic - Score: 56 - 12/31/10 @ 16:54
:3<CR>i1 <Down><Home>2 <Down><Home>3 <Down><Down><Home>4 <Down><Home>5 <Down><Home>6 <End><Esc>:x<CR>

0 comments

#146 Adam / arboooz - Score: 62 - 12/29/10 @ 20:41
<CR><CR><CR><CR><CR><CR><CR><C-V>jjI <Esc>i1<C-C><C-C>ji2<C-C><C-C>ji3<C-C><C-C>jj<C-V>jjI <Esc>i1<BS>4<C-C><C-C>ji5<C-C><C-C>ji6<C-C><C-C>:w<CR>:q<CR>

0 comments

#147 Irfan Ahmad / erfaan - Score: 75 - 12/29/10 @ 21:39
i<Down><Down>1 <Down><Left><Left>2 <Down><Left><Left>3 <Down><Down><Left><Left>4 <Down><Left><Left>5 <Down><Left><Left>6 <Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments

Created by: kana1

147 active golfers, 352 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
16
#1 - Urtica dioica / udioica

06/25/2015 at 07:32PM

16
#2 - Jon Krause / jkrause314

01/21/2016 at 07:55AM

16
#3 - Melvin Cheung / MelvinCheung

05/25/2017 at 08:05AM

18
#4 - Adam Bell / adamgbell

02/22/2013 at 10:00PM

18
#5 - Marco Hinz / _mhinz_

05/24/2013 at 04:11PM

18
#6 - Petro Тrouq / zulolosi

08/20/2013 at 06:57PM

18
#7 - John Braxler / braxler

05/22/2014 at 06:46PM

18
#8 - pftb12345 / pftb12345

04/23/2015 at 06:28AM

20
#9 - Kerson Hsiao / KersonHsiao

08/10/2012 at 05:26PM

20
#10 - Conner McDaniel / connermcd

09/19/2012 at 04:10AM

20
#11 - Tallak Tveide / tallakt

10/18/2012 at 12:31PM

20
#12 - Hubba / HubbaBubbaFett

12/25/2012 at 08:42PM

21
#13 - Justin Love / wondible

06/17/2011 at 02:01PM

22
#14 - Matthew Draper / _matthewd

01/08/2011 at 01:29AM

22
#15 - Jaime A. Sánchez / jashbeta

12/26/2011 at 03:08AM

22
#16 - Renat Aksitov / Korvin79

02/10/2012 at 12:33AM

22
#17 - Nolen Royalty / NolenRoyalty

04/20/2012 at 11:04PM

22
#18 - Rod Knowlton / codelahoma

05/27/2012 at 07:53PM

22
#19 - Timothée Gauthier / zmf_tim

11/13/2014 at 01:24PM

22
#20 - Daniel / Daniel00288663

04/06/2017 at 01:28PM

23
#21 - Mortimerj / mortimerj

12/30/2010 at 03:47AM

23
#22 - Tim Chase / gumnos

01/07/2011 at 11:18PM

23
#23 - Andrey Ivanov / Bytamine

08/12/2011 at 02:54PM

23
#24 - William Dunand / wdunand

12/02/2011 at 02:11AM

23
#25 - Marcin Sza / coot_

12/02/2012 at 11:56PM

23
#26 - Will / w_labranche

08/28/2016 at 12:05AM

24
#27 - sirex / sirex

12/29/2010 at 08:56PM

24
#28 - Douglas Stockwell / dstockwell

12/30/2010 at 01:06AM

24
#29 - Vitaly Kushner / vkushner

12/30/2010 at 01:57AM

24
#30 - Wei Dai / clvv42

12/30/2010 at 12:33PM

24
#31 - Jim Garvin / coderifous

12/31/2010 at 02:52AM

24
#32 - Tien Le / tienlex

12/31/2010 at 05:06PM

24
#33 - Kyle Willmon / kylewillmon

01/01/2011 at 12:54AM

24
#34 - Aurélien Delahaye / alkove

01/01/2011 at 10:17PM

24
#35 - Asmund Liseth / Asmund_L

01/02/2011 at 05:16PM

24
#36 - Balkoth / _Balkoth_

01/08/2011 at 06:19PM

24
#37 - Pete Johns / johnsyweb

01/14/2011 at 09:59PM

24
#38 - vg / vimgolfer

02/26/2011 at 05:28PM

24
#39 - Paweu1kZ nbNeyIhH / yUQlwsFpRSzxJFh

03/07/2011 at 01:22AM

24
#40 - Terje Larsen / terlars

04/08/2011 at 01:20PM

24
#41 - Sammasati / sammasati0

07/16/2011 at 05:19PM

24
#42 - Hu Junfeng / junfeng

07/18/2011 at 09:43AM

24
#43 - You-Siang Lin / yslinnctu

12/01/2011 at 01:46PM

24
#44 - Tom Cammann / tea_sea

03/05/2013 at 02:28PM

24
#45 - Dr Rev J Kirchartz / JKirchartz

07/25/2013 at 03:45AM

24
#46 - Ram Tamtam / ramtamtamtam

07/02/2014 at 02:41PM

25
#47 - Adam Pohorecki / apohorecki

12/29/2010 at 08:57PM

25
#48 - Austin Taylor / austintaylor

12/29/2010 at 09:04PM

25
#49 - Utkarsh Kukreti / utkarshkukreti

12/29/2010 at 11:39PM

25
#50 - Andrey A. Ugolnik / andreyugolnik

01/20/2011 at 12:23AM

25
#51 - Trevor Powell / DoomedBunnies

11/29/2011 at 07:41AM

25
#52 - Joonas Pihlajamaa / jokkebk

02/21/2014 at 12:15PM

25
#53 - Rob Glew / RealGlew

06/10/2014 at 02:15PM

25
#54 - Caek / Caek_

08/11/2014 at 06:05AM

25
#55 - Matt Robbins / mcrmfc

11/24/2014 at 10:08PM

26
#56 - kana / kana1

12/29/2010 at 08:22PM

26
#57 - uuu / uu59

12/29/2010 at 09:18PM

26
#58 - pcl / _pcl

01/04/2011 at 07:40PM

26
#59 - h_east (トロッコ6個) / h_east

01/16/2011 at 04:45PM

26
#60 - Shawn / sartak

04/23/2011 at 07:18PM

26
#61 - Emile Swarts / EmileSwarts

05/30/2011 at 07:36PM

26
#62 - Jim Infield / jinfield

07/21/2011 at 02:51PM

26
#63 - drupalovereasy / drupalovereasy

04/29/2012 at 02:06PM

26
#64 - cj / cj01101

10/19/2013 at 06:40PM

26
#65 - jgpaiva / jgpaiva

02/04/2014 at 07:22PM

26
#66 - RobertT / techrt2050

07/22/2014 at 05:34PM

27
#67 - michael caviness / michaelmichael

12/30/2010 at 01:03AM

27
#68 - Akira Matsuda / a_matsuda

12/30/2010 at 06:03AM

27
#69 - Thomas Schönwälder / Masei1988

01/15/2011 at 08:54PM

27
#70 - Rolf K. / mindleftbody

06/17/2011 at 02:58PM

27
#71 - Joe Fredette / jfredett

10/08/2011 at 11:24PM

27
#72 - Vestrobaa / Vestrobaa

07/21/2013 at 08:47PM

27
#73 - James / Dronak

09/03/2013 at 12:17AM

27
#74 - brett / brettyukich

10/03/2013 at 05:29AM

27
#75 - foo / foo88832727

10/19/2013 at 05:22PM

27
#76 - mnx / mnxx

10/15/2014 at 12:00PM

27
#77 - Kristijan Husak / kristijan_husak

02/03/2015 at 09:15AM

27
#78 - Walker Boh / walker_boh

12/18/2015 at 03:06PM

28
#79 - Aaron Bull Schaefer / elasticdog

12/29/2010 at 08:25PM

28
#80 - Marian Schubert / MarianSchubert

12/29/2010 at 09:53PM

28
#81 - Jacob Miller / pwnies

12/29/2010 at 10:59PM

28
#82 - kmymtksh / kmymtksh

01/01/2011 at 02:19PM

28
#83 - Federico Galassi / federicogalassi

01/02/2011 at 11:10AM

28
#84 - Tyler / tylerbindon

04/01/2013 at 05:21AM

29
#85 - Clint Tseng / cxlt

12/29/2010 at 09:03PM

29
#86 - James Wickett / wickett

12/29/2010 at 10:59PM

29
#87 - Behnam Esfahbod / zwnj

12/30/2010 at 11:53AM

29
#88 - Siripong Boonchaiya / siripong

01/01/2011 at 05:09AM

29
#89 - Tony Hillerson / thillerson

01/04/2011 at 11:16PM

29
#90 - Ben Lenarts / benlenarts

01/09/2011 at 04:45PM

29
#91 - Dave / zzdave13

07/31/2011 at 01:50PM

29
#92 - Son of Bongo / bpcode

09/15/2012 at 01:31AM

29
#93 - Brent Carmer / brent_carmer

04/13/2013 at 05:21AM

29
#94 - Davy Dovanton / anton_davydov

01/05/2014 at 12:23PM

29
#95 - Alishah Chator / alicharizard

06/10/2014 at 03:04PM

29
#96 - Antonio Murdaca / runc0m

01/16/2015 at 10:46PM

29
#97 - Oliver Christ / 0liverChrist

02/27/2015 at 03:50PM

30
#98 - Mike Plotz / antisuji

12/29/2010 at 09:00PM

30
#99 - Mariano Guerra / marianoguerra

12/29/2010 at 11:33PM

30
#100 - Brad / bjjwillis

01/02/2011 at 09:27AM

30
#101 - Toto l'haricot / nico_le_terribl

01/09/2011 at 10:25PM

31
#102 - kuhout / kuhout

12/29/2010 at 09:14PM

31
#103 - Matt DiGregorio / mattgreggs

12/31/2010 at 08:35PM

31
#104 - Yann Moisan / YannMoisan

02/03/2013 at 08:08PM

32
#105 - Jordan Lewis / JordanALewis

12/29/2010 at 08:25PM

32
#106 - Josh Weinberg / jcweinberg

01/07/2011 at 11:55PM

32
#107 - jasper110 / jasper110

09/22/2011 at 09:46AM

32
#108 - 無ん垢の叫び / john_ababa

02/23/2012 at 11:07AM

33
#109 - Joe Hassick / jhassick

12/29/2010 at 08:40PM

33
#110 - Gabriele Lana / gabrielelana

12/29/2010 at 09:38PM

34
#111 - dcbaok / dcbaok

12/29/2010 at 09:04PM

34
#112 - Roland Crosby / roooooland

12/30/2010 at 08:27AM

34
#113 - Guillaume Bonnoron / gbonnoron

12/30/2010 at 04:45PM

34
#114 - Vincent Isambart / vincentisambart

12/31/2010 at 12:21PM

34
#115 - larsd / larsd

01/01/2011 at 07:10AM

34
#116 - Su. / 0moMi

01/01/2011 at 03:26PM

34
#117 - drio / drio

01/03/2011 at 12:51PM

34
#118 - Andrei Dragomir / adragomir

01/04/2011 at 11:00AM

34
#119 - William Shackleton / wshackleton

01/07/2011 at 05:44PM

34
#120 - Vladimir Parfinenko / cypok

01/19/2011 at 08:45AM

34
#121 - mightyfoo / mightyfoo

05/26/2011 at 12:23PM

34
#122 - Xavier Nayrac / lkdjiin

12/30/2011 at 01:39PM

34
#123 - Christopher Brew / Seph1rothVII

01/06/2012 at 11:38PM

34
#124 - Michael / patheticpat

12/17/2012 at 10:35PM

34
#125 - LicoriceTaffy / LicoriceTaffy

06/10/2014 at 02:59PM

34
#126 - Connie Qi / connieqi

06/11/2014 at 03:17PM

35
#127 - Nándor Komzák / rubymood

12/29/2010 at 11:35PM

35
#128 - Francesco / fra_cek

02/13/2012 at 12:28PM

36
#129 - Levon Lloyd / levonlloyd

02/04/2011 at 08:48PM

36
#130 - Jakub Troszok / zosoooo

05/04/2011 at 03:17PM

37
#131 - Andy Goldstein / andygoldstein

12/29/2010 at 09:07PM

37
#132 - Drew Neil / nelstrom

08/27/2013 at 10:05AM

38
#133 - Advait Shinde / thethimble

12/29/2010 at 09:03PM

38
#134 - Yannick LM / yanicklm

12/30/2010 at 10:46PM

39
#135 - Sid Kasivajhula / CountVajhula

12/29/2010 at 09:01PM

39
#136 - William Ott / oddalot

04/15/2015 at 03:48AM

40
#137 - Lee Marlow / lmarlow

12/29/2010 at 11:57PM

42
#138 - Henrik Nyh / henrik

12/30/2010 at 12:59AM

44
#139 - Ujjwol Lamichhane / Ujjwol

12/30/2010 at 09:11AM

45
#140 - Arto Vuori / dhpe

08/30/2012 at 10:12PM

46
#141 - Soliman Sylvain / sylvain_soliman

12/29/2010 at 09:38PM

48
#142 - Dan Wanek / zentourist

12/29/2010 at 08:46PM

55
#143 - Cyril Pascal / paxal

12/30/2010 at 05:37PM

56
#144 - Chris Doble / chrisdoble

12/30/2010 at 01:15AM

56
#145 - Ben Dowling / coderholic

12/31/2010 at 04:54PM

62
#146 - Adam / arboooz

12/29/2010 at 08:41PM

75
#147 - Irfan Ahmad / erfaan

12/29/2010 at 09:39PM