Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1c5e6035b40650b8000111

Another Mixed-Up Haiku

VimGolf ... a perfect evening?

Start file
Eemplt Sellb Eid Tuo.
Eht Tragranf Slossomb Nemair.
A Terfecp Gvenine!
End file
Temple bells die out.
The fragrant blossoms remain.
A perfect evening!

View Diff

1,3c1,3
< Eemplt Sellb Eid Tuo.
< Eht Tragranf Slossomb Nemair.
< A Terfecp Gvenine!
---
> Temple bells die out.
> The fragrant blossoms remain.
> A perfect evening!

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 59 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#60 Tj / yrddy - Score: 31 - 02/19/16 @ 08:48
qq~XepXbPwq3@q+4@q+w2@q1G~jh~ZZ

0 comments

#61 Oriol Gual / oriolgual - Score: 32 - 12/30/10 @ 13:30
qqxephxbPWq7@qw2@qVkku0~jh~jh~ZZ

0 comments

#62 James Wickett / wickett - Score: 32 - 12/30/10 @ 22:29
qaxeP~xbPwq3@a)4@a/T<CR>2@a((~((~ZZ

0 comments

#63 Jim Garvin / coderifous - Score: 33 - 12/30/10 @ 14:09
qqxephxbPwq3@qw4@qww2@@Vggu<C-V>G~<Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#64 Oliver Christ / 0liverChrist - Score: 33 - 05/22/15 @ 20:18
qqxevpbPwq3@qw4@@ww2@@Vkku<Home><C-V>jj~ZZ

0 comments

#65  Ikhsan Maulana / ixandidu - Score: 34 - 12/30/10 @ 17:41
guGqpxevpbPwq3@pj04@pjbb2@p0<C-V>gg~ZZ

0 comments

#66 Christopher Brew / Seph1rothVII - Score: 34 - 01/24/12 @ 21:03
qqxephxbPwq3@q+4@q+w2@qVkku^<C-V>jj~ZZ

0 comments

#67 Rolf K. / mindleftbody - Score: 35 - 06/17/11 @ 15:51
VGguqaxephxbPwq3@aw4@aww@a@agg<C-V>G~ZZ

0 comments

#68 Glenn / spamcow_moo - Score: 37 - 12/30/10 @ 17:42
:%s/\v<(.)(\w*)(.)>/\3\2\l\1/g<CR><C-V>kkUZZ

0 comments

#69 Lee Marlow / lmarlow - Score: 38 - 12/30/10 @ 17:40
:%s/\v(\w)(\w+)(\w)/\3\2\L\1/g<CR>k~kh~ZZ

0 comments

#70 drio / drio - Score: 39 - 01/09/11 @ 17:31
<Esc>:%s/\v(\w)(\w+)(\w)/\3\2\L\1/g<CR>k~kh~ZZ

0 comments

#71 Jeong-Min Lee / falsetru - Score: 54 - 12/30/10 @ 16:38
:%s/\v(\w)(\w*)(\w)/\3\2\1/g<CR>:%s/\v(.)(.*)/\u\1\L\2<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#72 Juan C. Muller / juancmuller - Score: 54 - 12/31/10 @ 03:07
guGqqxevpbPwq@q@@@@w@@@@@@@@w@<Right><Right><Right>@@@@^<C-V><Up><Up>UZZ

0 comments

#73 James Conroy-Finn / jamesconroyfinn - Score: 72 - 12/31/10 @ 00:49
:%s/\v((\w)(\w{-})(\w)(\W|\s))/\4\3\2\5/g<CR>Vgggu~hj.j.hh.:wq!<BS><BS><BS>wq<CR>

0 comments

#74 Sundeep Malladi / smalladi - Score: 126 - 07/27/11 @ 03:22
rTlllllrellrbllllrsllrdllrellrollrt:2<CR>rTllrellrFlllljkhhhhrflllllllrtllrblllllllrsllrrlllllrn:3<CR>llrpllllllrtllrellllllrg:w<CR>:q<CR>

0 comments

Created by: bjjwillis

74 active golfers, 196 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
21
#1 - Wei Dai / clvv42

12/30/2010 at 11:21AM

21
#2 - Ujjwol Lamichhane / Ujjwol

12/30/2010 at 11:23AM

21
#3 - Richard Wood / richardbwood

12/30/2010 at 02:23PM

21
#4 - Stephen Morrow / yawmark

12/31/2010 at 04:35AM

21
#5 - Dmytro Shteflyuk / kpumuk

12/31/2010 at 05:25AM

21
#6 - Danny Dulai / dannydulai

12/31/2010 at 07:02AM

21
#7 - Behnam Esfahbod / zwnj

12/31/2010 at 01:38PM

21
#8 - Vincent Isambart / vincentisambart

01/01/2011 at 01:35AM

21
#9 - derp derp / derp__

01/03/2011 at 05:27PM

21
#10 - Kyle Willmon / kylewillmon

01/03/2011 at 05:41PM

21
#11 - dominique pellé / vimgolfisto

01/07/2011 at 07:03PM

21
#12 - Tim Chase / gumnos

01/09/2011 at 01:19AM

21
#13 - Mattiassich Ákos / mattiassicha

01/16/2011 at 03:21PM

21
#14 - h_east (トロッコ6個) / h_east

01/19/2011 at 03:02PM

21
#15 - vg / vimgolfer

02/27/2011 at 08:04PM

21
#16 - Dragan Cvetinovic / kawkafi

05/22/2011 at 06:53PM

21
#17 - Justin Love / wondible

06/26/2011 at 12:49PM

21
#18 - Hu Junfeng / junfeng

07/20/2011 at 12:05PM

21
#19 - Dave / zzdave13

07/29/2011 at 10:10AM

21
#20 - Federico Galassi / federicogalassi

08/30/2011 at 12:35AM

21
#21 - You-Siang Lin / yslinnctu

12/02/2011 at 02:19AM

21
#22 - Renat Aksitov / Korvin79

02/14/2012 at 11:37PM

21
#23 - Rod Knowlton / codelahoma

06/05/2012 at 01:34AM

21
#24 - Urtica dioica / udioica

06/20/2012 at 03:39AM

21
#25 - Conner McDaniel / connermcd

09/19/2012 at 04:22AM

21
#26 - Tom Cammann / tea_sea

10/11/2012 at 10:25AM

21
#27 - Hubba / HubbaBubbaFett

12/27/2012 at 06:47PM

21
#28 - Yann Moisan / YannMoisan

01/24/2013 at 09:50PM

21
#29 - a24f0600 / a24f0600

02/07/2013 at 01:38PM

21
#30 - Marco Hinz / _mhinz_

05/27/2013 at 10:32AM

21
#31 - Joonas Pihlajamaa / jokkebk

03/03/2014 at 02:39PM

21
#32 - John Braxler / braxler

08/05/2014 at 06:05PM

21
#33 - Rui Mendes / rcm_dium

05/02/2015 at 06:19PM

21
#34 - Jon Krause / jkrause314

03/23/2016 at 09:45PM

23
#35 - Aurélien Delahaye / alkove

12/30/2010 at 06:31PM

23
#36 - Brad / bjjwillis

12/31/2010 at 01:11AM

23
#37 - Joel Taylor / joelteon_

01/01/2011 at 04:51AM

24
#38 - Fer Enaf / 0x00C0FFEE

12/30/2010 at 11:20AM

24
#39 - Pete Johns / johnsyweb

01/02/2011 at 10:13AM

24
#40 - Andrey A. Ugolnik / andreyugolnik

01/19/2011 at 09:20PM

24
#41 - Jim Infield / jinfield

07/21/2011 at 10:17PM

24
#42 - William Dunand / wdunand

11/29/2011 at 03:04AM

24
#43 - Kurt Gaastra / KGaastra

02/15/2012 at 04:50AM

24
#44 - 無ん垢の叫び / john_ababa

02/23/2012 at 04:04PM

24
#45 - tmr / tmr314

09/10/2012 at 11:06AM

24
#46 - Matthieu Crapet / mcr05

05/07/2015 at 12:12PM

25
#47 - Sergey Doroshenko / dorserg

04/19/2011 at 06:01AM

25
#48 - Trevor Powell / DoomedBunnies

11/30/2011 at 06:19AM

26
#49 - Austin Taylor / austintaylor

12/31/2010 at 05:25AM

26
#50 - Tony Hillerson / thillerson

01/04/2011 at 10:45PM

26
#51 - Francisco Dibar / frandibar

01/14/2011 at 03:38AM

27
#52 - Kerson Hsiao / KersonHsiao

05/06/2012 at 05:48PM

28
#53 - Asmund Liseth / Asmund_L

12/30/2010 at 05:43PM

28
#54 - Leonard Chin / lchin

12/31/2010 at 09:37AM

28
#55 - xhtmlforum / xhtmlforum

01/25/2011 at 08:22AM

28
#56 - Dario Cazzaro / darioqa

09/18/2011 at 11:21PM

31
#57 - James Cash / jamesnvc

01/02/2011 at 10:19PM

31
#58 - James / Dronak

09/19/2014 at 10:52PM

31
#59 - banielTimes / banielTimes

09/21/2015 at 01:17PM

31
#60 - Tj / yrddy

02/19/2016 at 08:48AM

32
#61 - Oriol Gual / oriolgual

12/30/2010 at 01:30PM

32
#62 - James Wickett / wickett

12/30/2010 at 10:29PM

33
#63 - Jim Garvin / coderifous

12/30/2010 at 02:09PM

33
#64 - Oliver Christ / 0liverChrist

05/22/2015 at 08:18PM

34
#65 -  Ikhsan Maulana / ixandidu

12/30/2010 at 05:41PM

34
#66 - Christopher Brew / Seph1rothVII

01/24/2012 at 09:03PM

35
#67 - Rolf K. / mindleftbody

06/17/2011 at 03:51PM

37
#68 - Glenn / spamcow_moo

12/30/2010 at 05:42PM

38
#69 - Lee Marlow / lmarlow

12/30/2010 at 05:40PM

39
#70 - drio / drio

01/09/2011 at 05:31PM

54
#71 - Jeong-Min Lee / falsetru

12/30/2010 at 04:38PM

54
#72 - Juan C. Muller / juancmuller

12/31/2010 at 03:07AM

72
#73 - James Conroy-Finn / jamesconroyfinn

12/31/2010 at 12:49AM

126
#74 - Sundeep Malladi / smalladi

07/27/2011 at 03:22AM