Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Leaderboard, Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d6f45b938c0aa691b000003

Recursively Palindrome

Note that there are 2^6-1 characters.

Start file
6
End file
abacabadabacabaeabacabadabacabafabacabadabacabaeabacabadabacaba

View Diff

1c1
< 6
---
> abacabadabacabaeabacabadabacabafabacabadabacabaeabacabadabacaba

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 43 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#44 Michał Taszycki / @mehowte - Score: 33 - 03/05/11 @ 19:30
Cab<Esc>qqy0$pqAc<Esc>@qad<Esc>@@ae<Esc>@@af<Esc>@@ZZ

0 comments

#45 William Dunand / @wdunand - Score: 36 - 11/08/11 @ 01:52
:se nf=alpha<CR>raqq:%y<CR>pG<C-A>q5@qD:%j!<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#46 Will Gray / @graywh - Score: 37 - 03/16/11 @ 17:33
sabacaba<Esc>:%y<CR>od<Esc>p@:oe<Esc>pG@:of<Esc>p:%j!|x<CR>

0 comments

#47 Quota / @Quotad - Score: 37 - 02/11/14 @ 16:45
sdedfded<Esc>:s/d/cdc/g<CR>:s/c/abacaba/g<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#48 無ん垢の叫び / @john_ababa - Score: 39 - 02/27/12 @ 11:50
Caba<Esc>ac<C-A>d<C-A>c<C-A>e<C-A>c<C-A>d<C-A>c<C-A>f<C-A>c<C-A>d<C-A>c<C-A>e<C-A>c<C-A>d<C-A>c<C-A><Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#49 Steven Occhipinti / @steveocchipinti - Score: 40 - 03/12/11 @ 11:24
:set nf=alpha<CR>saba<Esc><Left>qqvy<End>p<C-A>y0<End>p`.<Left>q3@qZZ

@steveocchipinti: Not efficient, but I wanted to see if I could use some sort of recursion-like method :P

1 comment

#50 Milan Dobrota / @milandobrota - Score: 41 - 11/20/11 @ 22:01
x16iabac<Esc>xFc;rd;;re;;rd;;rf;;rd;;re;;rdZZ

0 comments

#51 こばばー / @symmet - Score: 42 - 04/30/11 @ 09:00
8iabacaba<Esc><Esc>/aa<CR>ad<Esc>2n.2n.2n.Nae<Esc>2N.naf<Esc>$xZZ

0 comments

#52 knut ytterhaug / @knutemann - Score: 47 - 11/23/11 @ 18:58
Cdedfded <Esc><Left>^iabacaba<Esc><Right><Right>.<Right><Right>.<Right><Right>.<Right><Right>.<Right><Right>.<Right><Right>.<Right><Right>.<Right><Esc>xZZ

0 comments

#53 Angela Harms / @angelaharms - Score: 48 - 01/18/12 @ 01:21
Didedfded<Esc>:s/\(.\)/bcb\1/g<CR>Abcb<Esc>:<Up><Left><Left><Left><Left><BS><BS><BS>a<CR>Aa<Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#54 Ben Sherman / @bensherman - Score: 67 - 10/02/11 @ 05:20
Cabacabadabacabaeabacabadabacabafabacabadabacabaeabacabadabacaba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments

Created by: @beingryu

54 active golfers, 173 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
22
#1 - Urtica dioica / @udioica

12/10/2012 at 04:59AM

22
#2 - John Braxler / @braxler

08/11/2014 at 06:06PM

23
#3 - Beau Dacious / @nocash

03/19/2011 at 11:55PM

23
#4 - Andrew Dorman / @andydorman

03/22/2011 at 09:09AM

23
#5 - Mathias Bynens  / @mathias

04/08/2011 at 07:59AM

23
#6 - Dragan Cvetinovic / @kawkafi

05/21/2011 at 01:42PM

23
#7 - Tim Chase / @gumnos

06/05/2011 at 06:28PM

23
#8 - Johan Sveholm / @rymdtjuren

07/21/2011 at 07:58AM

23
#9 - Hu Junfeng / @junfeng

08/03/2011 at 08:53AM

23
#10 - Tim Tsu / @vimgolfpunk

09/04/2011 at 12:03AM

23
#11 - Mohammed / @mbadran

09/04/2011 at 08:28AM

23
#12 - Justin Love / @wondible

09/10/2011 at 01:35PM

23
#13 - You-Siang Lin / @yslinnctu

11/29/2011 at 08:03AM

23
#14 - Jakub Arnold / @darthdeus

12/19/2011 at 03:56PM

23
#15 - Renat Aksitov / @Korvin79

02/18/2012 at 07:02AM

23
#16 - Kerson Hsiao / @KersonHsiao

07/10/2012 at 03:35PM

23
#17 - Trevor Powell / @DoomedBunnies

03/20/2013 at 04:34AM

23
#18 - Zapata / @Incredible_JFP

03/19/2014 at 06:14PM

23
#19 - ben / @bpaqd

01/23/2015 at 01:47PM

24
#20 - vg / @vimgolfer

03/03/2011 at 03:36PM

24
#21 - xhtmlforum / @xhtmlforum

03/03/2011 at 03:56PM

24
#22 - Oleg Roshupkin / @jjjahson

03/04/2011 at 05:05AM

24
#23 - h_east (DDD ready) / @h_east

03/05/2011 at 12:22AM

24
#24 - Wei Dai / @clvv42

03/05/2011 at 05:11AM

24
#25 - Balkoth / @_Balkoth_

03/05/2011 at 08:53AM

24
#26 - Pasha Klets / @p01nt

03/05/2011 at 11:06AM

24
#27 - timhoa / @timhoa

03/05/2011 at 02:58PM

24
#28 - Rocky Meza / @rockymeza

03/05/2011 at 06:14PM

24
#29 - Stephen Morrow / @yawmark

03/08/2011 at 04:46PM

24
#30 - drio / @drio

03/23/2011 at 10:13PM

24
#31 - Johnny Tong / @johnnytong

04/09/2011 at 10:39PM

24
#32 - vimja / @vimja666

10/11/2011 at 06:15AM

26
#33 - Roy Marco Aruta / @royaruta

03/03/2011 at 12:42PM

26
#34 - Kevin Hamer / @khamer

03/03/2011 at 09:13PM

26
#35 - ☣Rob Mason☠ / @necr0mancer

03/11/2011 at 07:50PM

28
#36 - Justin / @justinjaffray

04/28/2013 at 05:44PM

29
#37 - Thomas Schönwälder / @Masei1988

03/03/2011 at 08:57AM

29
#38 - Oleg Pestov / @opestov

03/09/2011 at 08:06AM

29
#39 - Esteban Ordano / @eordano

04/08/2011 at 12:50AM

30
#40 - Dave / @zzdave13

07/16/2011 at 04:11PM

30
#41 - Christopher Erin / @Chris__Erin

09/22/2011 at 08:28PM

30
#42 - Joonas Pihlajamaa / @jokkebk

03/10/2014 at 11:12AM

31
#43 - Avinash Baliga / @avinashbaliga

03/26/2011 at 02:28AM

33
#44 - Michał Taszycki / @mehowte

03/05/2011 at 07:30PM

36
#45 - William Dunand / @wdunand

11/08/2011 at 01:52AM

37
#46 - Will Gray / @graywh

03/16/2011 at 05:33PM

37
#47 - Quota / @Quotad

02/11/2014 at 04:45PM

39
#48 - 無ん垢の叫び / @john_ababa

02/27/2012 at 11:50AM

40
#49 - Steven Occhipinti / @steveocchipinti

03/12/2011 at 11:24AM

41
#50 - Milan Dobrota / @milandobrota

11/20/2011 at 10:01PM

42
#51 - こばばー / @symmet

04/30/2011 at 09:00AM

47
#52 - knut ytterhaug / @knutemann

11/23/2011 at 06:58PM

48
#53 - Angela Harms / @angelaharms

01/18/2012 at 01:21AM

67
#54 - Ben Sherman / @bensherman

10/02/2011 at 05:20AM