Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Leaderboard, Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d6f45b938c0aa691b000003

Recursively Palindrome

Note that there are 2^6-1 characters.

Start file
6
End file
abacabadabacabaeabacabadabacabafabacabadabacabaeabacabadabacaba

View Diff

1c1
< 6
---
> abacabadabacabaeabacabadabacabafabacabadabacabaeabacabadabacaba

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 42 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#43 Michał Taszycki / @mehowte - Score: 33 - 03/05/11 @ 11:30
Cab<Esc>qqy0$pqAc<Esc>@qad<Esc>@@ae<Esc>@@af<Esc>@@ZZ

0 comments

#44 William Dunand / @wdunand - Score: 36 - 11/07/11 @ 17:52
:se nf=alpha<CR>raqq:%y<CR>pG<C-A>q5@qD:%j!<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#45 Will Gray / @graywh - Score: 37 - 03/16/11 @ 10:33
sabacaba<Esc>:%y<CR>od<Esc>p@:oe<Esc>pG@:of<Esc>p:%j!|x<CR>

0 comments

#46 Quota / @Quotad - Score: 37 - 02/11/14 @ 08:45
sdedfded<Esc>:s/d/cdc/g<CR>:s/c/abacaba/g<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#47 無ん垢の叫び / @john_ababa - Score: 39 - 02/27/12 @ 03:50
Caba<Esc>ac<C-A>d<C-A>c<C-A>e<C-A>c<C-A>d<C-A>c<C-A>f<C-A>c<C-A>d<C-A>c<C-A>e<C-A>c<C-A>d<C-A>c<C-A><Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#48 Steven Occhipinti / @steveocchipinti - Score: 40 - 03/12/11 @ 03:24
:set nf=alpha<CR>saba<Esc><Left>qqvy<End>p<C-A>y0<End>p`.<Left>q3@qZZ

@steveocchipinti: Not efficient, but I wanted to see if I could use some sort of recursion-like method :P

1 comment

#49 Milan Dobrota / @milandobrota - Score: 41 - 11/20/11 @ 14:01
x16iabac<Esc>xFc;rd;;re;;rd;;rf;;rd;;re;;rdZZ

0 comments

#50 こばばー / @symmet - Score: 42 - 04/30/11 @ 02:00
8iabacaba<Esc><Esc>/aa<CR>ad<Esc>2n.2n.2n.Nae<Esc>2N.naf<Esc>$xZZ

0 comments

#51 knut ytterhaug / @knutemann - Score: 47 - 11/23/11 @ 10:58
Cdedfded <Esc><Left>^iabacaba<Esc><Right><Right>.<Right><Right>.<Right><Right>.<Right><Right>.<Right><Right>.<Right><Right>.<Right><Right>.<Right><Esc>xZZ

0 comments

#52 Angela Harms / @angelaharms - Score: 48 - 01/17/12 @ 17:21
Didedfded<Esc>:s/\(.\)/bcb\1/g<CR>Abcb<Esc>:<Up><Left><Left><Left><Left><BS><BS><BS>a<CR>Aa<Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#53 Ben Sherman / @bensherman - Score: 67 - 10/01/11 @ 22:20
Cabacabadabacabaeabacabadabacabafabacabadabacabaeabacabadabacaba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments

Created by: @beingryu

53 active golfers, 168 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
22
#1 - Urtica dioica / @udioica

12/09/2012 at 08:59PM

22
#2 - John Braxler / @braxler

08/11/2014 at 11:06AM

23
#3 - Beau Dacious / @nocash

03/19/2011 at 04:55PM

23
#4 - Andrew Dorman / @andydorman

03/22/2011 at 02:09AM

23
#5 - Mathias Bynens  / @mathias

04/08/2011 at 12:59AM

23
#6 - Dragan Cvetinovic / @kawkafi

05/21/2011 at 06:42AM

23
#7 - Tim Chase / @gumnos

06/05/2011 at 11:28AM

23
#8 - Johan Sveholm / @rymdtjuren

07/21/2011 at 12:58AM

23
#9 - Hu Junfeng / @junfeng

08/03/2011 at 01:53AM

23
#10 - Tim Tsu / @vimgolfpunk

09/03/2011 at 05:03PM

23
#11 - Mohammed / @mbadran

09/04/2011 at 01:28AM

23
#12 - Justin Love / @wondible

09/10/2011 at 06:35AM

23
#13 - You-Siang Lin / @yslinnctu

11/29/2011 at 12:03AM

23
#14 - Jakub Arnold / @darthdeus

12/19/2011 at 07:56AM

23
#15 - Renat Aksitov / @Korvin79

02/17/2012 at 11:02PM

23
#16 - Kerson Hsiao / @KersonHsiao

07/10/2012 at 08:35AM

23
#17 - Trevor Powell / @DoomedBunnies

03/19/2013 at 09:34PM

23
#18 - Zapata / @Incredible_JFP

03/19/2014 at 11:14AM

24
#19 - vg / @vimgolfer

03/03/2011 at 07:36AM

24
#20 - xhtmlforum / @xhtmlforum

03/03/2011 at 07:56AM

24
#21 - Oleg Roshupkin / @jjjahson

03/03/2011 at 09:05PM

24
#22 - h_east (DDD ready) / @h_east

03/04/2011 at 04:22PM

24
#23 - Wei Dai / @clvv42

03/04/2011 at 09:11PM

24
#24 - Balkoth / @_Balkoth_

03/05/2011 at 12:53AM

24
#25 - Pasha Klets / @p01nt

03/05/2011 at 03:06AM

24
#26 - timhoa / @timhoa

03/05/2011 at 06:58AM

24
#27 - Rocky Meza / @rockymeza

03/05/2011 at 10:14AM

24
#28 - Stephen Morrow / @yawmark

03/08/2011 at 08:46AM

24
#29 - drio / @drio

03/23/2011 at 03:13PM

24
#30 - Johnny Tong / @johnnytong

04/09/2011 at 03:39PM

24
#31 - vimja / @vimja666

10/10/2011 at 11:15PM

26
#32 - Roy Marco Aruta / @royaruta

03/03/2011 at 04:42AM

26
#33 - Kevin Hamer / @khamer

03/03/2011 at 01:13PM

26
#34 - ☣Rob Mason☠ / @necr0mancer

03/11/2011 at 11:50AM

28
#35 - Justin / @justinjaffray

04/28/2013 at 10:44AM

29
#36 - Thomas Schönwälder / @Masei1988

03/03/2011 at 12:57AM

29
#37 - Oleg Pestov / @opestov

03/09/2011 at 12:06AM

29
#38 - Esteban Ordano / @eordano

04/07/2011 at 05:50PM

30
#39 - Dave / @zzdave13

07/16/2011 at 09:11AM

30
#40 - Christopher Erin / @Chris__Erin

09/22/2011 at 01:28PM

30
#41 - Joonas Pihlajamaa / @jokkebk

03/10/2014 at 04:12AM

31
#42 - Avinash Baliga / @avinashbaliga

03/25/2011 at 07:28PM

33
#43 - Michał Taszycki / @mehowte

03/05/2011 at 11:30AM

36
#44 - William Dunand / @wdunand

11/07/2011 at 05:52PM

37
#45 - Will Gray / @graywh

03/16/2011 at 10:33AM

37
#46 - Quota / @Quotad

02/11/2014 at 08:45AM

39
#47 - 無ん垢の叫び / @john_ababa

02/27/2012 at 03:50AM

40
#48 - Steven Occhipinti / @steveocchipinti

03/12/2011 at 03:24AM

41
#49 - Milan Dobrota / @milandobrota

11/20/2011 at 02:01PM

42
#50 - こばばー / @symmet

04/30/2011 at 02:00AM

47
#51 - knut ytterhaug / @knutemann

11/23/2011 at 10:58AM

48
#52 - Angela Harms / @angelaharms

01/17/2012 at 05:21PM

67
#53 - Ben Sherman / @bensherman

10/01/2011 at 10:20PM